Set of early Elektra logos

Elektra Records Master Discography


The Folk Box — Various Artists

Alternate sleeve:The Folk Box

Elektra EUK 251/2 (Mono)

Released: 1966

  • Cynthia Gooding: Greensleeves
  • Ian Campbell Folk Group: Down In The Coal Mine
  • Ewan MacColl: Geordie
  • Irish Ramblers: Whiskey In The Jar
  • Susan Reed: Irish Famine Song
  • Ed McCurdy: Gypsy Laddie
  • Jean Redpath: Tae The Weavers
  • African Traveling Song
  • Navajo Night Chant
  • Gene Bluestein: Skada At America
  • New Lost City Ramblers: When First Unto This Country
  • Susan Reed: Springfield Mountain
  • Ed McCurdy: Good Old Colony Times
  • Oscar Brand: Jefferson And Liberty
  • Pete Seeger: Darling Cory
  • Jack Elliot: Jesse James
  • Leadbelly: Rock Island Line
  • Woody Guthrie: Oregon Trail
  • Erik Darling: Swannanda Tunnel
  • Ed McCurdy: Kentucky Moonshine
  • Alabama School Children: Green Green Rocky Road
  • Leadbelly: Pick A Bale Of Cotton
  • Seafarers Chorus: Haul On The Bowline
  • Pete Seeger: Paddy Works on the Railway
  • Harry Jackson: I Ride an Old Paint
  • Cisco Houston: Zebra Dun
  • Horace Sprott: Field Holler
  • Koerner, Ray and Glover: Linin' Track
  • Willer Turner: Now Your Man Done Gone
  • Josh White: Timber
  • Negro Prisoners: Grizzly Bear
  • Marilyn Child and Glenn Yarbrough: Mary had a Baby
  • Josh White: Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dyin Bed
  • Blind Willie Johnson: Dark Was the Night
  • Judy Collins: Twelve Gates To The City
  • Theodore Bikel: A Zemer
  • Glenn Yarbrough: Wayfaring Stranger
  • Ed McCurdy: Simple Gifts
  • Leadbelly: Meetin' at the Building
  • Bob Gibson: You can Tell the World
  • Christian Tabernacle Church: Down By The Riverside
  • Willy Clancy: Sligo Reel/Mountain Road
  • Eric Weissberg: Old Joe Clark
  • Clarence Ashley: Coo Coo Bird
  • Tom Paley: Shady Grove
  • Eric Weissberg and Marshall Brickman: Flop-Eared Mule
  • Jean Ritchie: Nottamun Town
  • Doc Watson and others: Amazing Grace
  • Doc Watson: Cripple Creek
  • The Dillards: Pretty Polly
  • George Pegram and Walter Parham: Yellow Rose Of Texas
  • Dián And The Greenbriar Boys: Green Corn
  • The Dillards: Old Man at the Mill
  • Sonny Terry: Lost John
  • Big Bill Broonzy: I Wonder When I'll Get To Be Called a Man
  • Leadbelly: Black Snake Moan
  • Blind Lemon Jefferson: See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
  • Hally Wood: House of the Rising Sun
  • Mark Spoelstra: France Blues
  • New Lost City Ramblers: Carter Blues
  • Dave Ray: Slappin' On My Black Cat Bone
  • Dave Van Ronk: Don't Leave Me Here
  • Josh White: Southern Exposure
  • Ed McCurdy: John Brown's Body
  • Frank Warner: Virginia's Bloody Soil
  • Theodore Bikel: Two Brothers
  • Judy Collins: Masters of War
  • Theodore Bikel: Blow the Candles Out
  • Jean Redpath: Love Is Teasin'
  • Clarence Ashley and Doc Watson: Sally Ann
  • Jean Ritchie: Little Devils
  • Limeliters: The Hammer Song
  • Woody Guthrie: This Land is Your Land
  • Pete Seeger, Almanac Singer with audience: Which Side are You On?
  • New Lost City Ramblers: No Depression in Heaven
  • Woody Guthrie: Talking Dust Bowl
  • Big Bill Broonzy: Black Brown And White
  • Oscar Brand: Talking Atomic Blues
  • Hamilton Camp: Girl From The North Country
  • Judy Collins: The Dove
  • Tom Paxton: High Sheriff Of Hazard
  • Phil Ochs: The Thresher
  • Pete Seeger: We Shall Overcome

A boxed set of 4 discs with a 48 page booklet , put together by Robert Sheldon with the assistance of Folkways Records. For the UK market the discs were pressed locally but the booklet and box were imported and stickered.

Side 1: Songs of the Old World and Migration to the New Side 2: Settling, Exploring and Growing in the New World Side 3: Work Song Side 4: Many Worshippers, One God Side 5: Country Music - From Ballads to Bluegrass Side 6: Nothing But The Blues Side 7: Of War, Love and Hope Side 8: Broadsides, Topical Songs, Protest Songs UK issue of EKL 9001.

Whereas the American version had custom labels, persumably reflecting the joint venture with Folkways, the UK release had Elektra labels.

Elektra first issued LPs in the UK through Audio Fidelity, starting in 1960, both local pressings and distribution of American product. Discs were also licensed through (and on) Pye's Golden Guinea label and, in the case of the Beefeaters single,through Pye International. Four singles, including two by Love, were licensed to London American for UK distribution around 1966. Joe Boyd arrived in London (according to Billboard ... but surely Joe was already here) to work as Elektra's UK-based production supervisor late in 1965. He was setting up a pressing and distribution deal with Decca which probably explains the London singles. Elektra finally closed its London office in 1994.