Set of early Elektra logos

Elektra Records Master Discography: Search

Plainsong In Search of Amelia Earhart

Sleeve:In Search of Amelia Earhart

Elektra EKS 75044 (Stereo)

Released: October 1972

Production: Sandy Roberton

Engineering: Jerry Boys

Recorded: Sound Techniques, London

Side 1

  • For The Second Time
  • Yo Yo Man
  • Louise
  • Call The Tune
  • Diesel On My Tail
  • Amelia Earhart's Last Flight

Side 2

  • I'll Fly Away
  • True Story Of Amelia Earhart
  • Even The Guiding Light
  • Side Roads
  • Raider

Including Ian Matthews and Andy Roberts, both of whom also recorded solo albums for Elektra. It was rare for Elektra to sign British acts for the world, so they made a big thing of this first album by Plainsong. The band did record a second, which wasn't issued and the members went their separate ways, with Ian going to LA. The band later reformed to record and do live performances.

The gatefold cover also includes a lyric booklet which itself includes a short piece about Amelia Earhart. The acknowledgements include a thanks to Paul Kriwaczek for his string organ. Paul, who was a BBC radio producer, invented this instrument and Andy Roberts was one of its few exponents.