Set of early Elektra logos

Elektra Records Master Discography


The Folk Box — Various Artists

Alternate sleeve:The Folk Box

Elektra EKL 9001/EKL-BOX (Mono)

Released: 1964

Production: Jac Holzman

  • Cynthia Gooding: Greensleeves
  • Ian Campbell Folk Group: Down In The Coal Mine
  • Ewan MacColl: Geordie
  • Irish Ramblers: Whiskey In The Jar
  • Susan Reed: Irish Famine Song
  • Ed McCurdy: Gypsy Laddie
  • Jean Redpath: Tae The Weavers
  • African Traveling Song
  • Navajo Night Chant
  • Gene Bluestein: Skada At America
  • New Lost City Ramblers: When First Unto This Country
  • Susan Reed: Springfield Mountain
  • Ed McCurdy: Good Old Colony Times
  • Oscar Brand: Jefferson And Liberty
  • Pete Seeger: Darling Cory
  • Jack Elliot: Jesse James
  • Leadbelly: Rock Island Line
  • Woody Guthrie: Oregon Trail
  • Erik Darling: Swannanda Tunnel
  • Ed McCurdy: Kentucky Moonshine
  • Alabama School Children: Green Green Rocky Road
  • Leadbelly: Pick A Bale Of Cotton
  • Seafarers Chorus: Haul On The Bowline
  • Pete Seeger: Paddy Works on the Railway
  • Harry Jackson: I Ride an Old Paint
  • Cisco Houston: Zebra Dun
  • Horace Sprott: Field Holler
  • Koerner, Ray & Glover: Linin' Track
  • Willer Turner: Now Your Man Done Gone
  • Josh White: Timber
  • Negro Prisoners: Grizzly Bear
  • Marilyn Child & Glenn Yarbrough: Mary had a Baby
  • Josh White: Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dyin Bed
  • Blind Willie Johnson: Dark Was the Night
  • Judy Collins: Twelve Gates To The City
  • Theodore Bikel: A Zemer
  • Glenn Yarbrough: Wayfaring Stranger
  • Ed McCurdy: Simple Gifts
  • Leadbelly: Meetin' at the Building
  • Bob Gibson: You can Tell the World
  • Christian Tabernacle Church: Down By The Riverside
  • Willy Clancy: Sligo Reel/Mountain Road
  • Eric Weissberg: Old Joe Clark
  • Clarence Ashley: Coo Coo Bird
  • Tom Paley: Shady Grove
  • Eric Weissberg & Marshall Brickman: Flop-Eared Mule
  • Jean Ritchie: Nottamun Town
  • Doc Watson and others: Amazing Grace
  • Doc Watson: Cripple Creek
  • The Dillards: Pretty Polly
  • George Pegram & Walter Parham: Yellow Rose Of Texas
  • Dián And The Greenbriar Boys: Green Corn
  • The Dillards: Old Man at the Mill
  • Sonny Terry: Lost John
  • Big Bill Broonzy: I Wonder When I'll Get To Be Called a Man
  • Leadbelly: Black Snake Moan
  • Blind Lemon Jefferson: See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
  • Hally Wood: House of the Rising Sun
  • Mark Spoelstra: France Blues
  • New Lost City Ramblers: Carter Blues
  • Dave Ray: Slappin' On My Black Cat Bone
  • Dave Van Ronk: Don't Leave Me Here
  • Josh White: Southern Exposure
  • Ed McCurdy: John Brown's Body
  • Frank Warner: Virginia's Bloody Soil
  • Theodore Bikel: Two Brothers
  • Judy Collins: Masters of War
  • Theodore Bikel: Blow the Candles Out
  • Jean Redpath: Love Is Teasin'
  • Clarence Ashley and Doc Watson: Sally Ann
  • Jean Ritchie: Little Devils
  • Limeliters: The Hammer Song
  • Woody Guthrie: This Land is Your Land
  • Pete Seeger, Almanac Singer with audience: Which Side are You On?
  • New Lost City Ramblers: No Depression in Heaven
  • Woody Guthrie: Talking Dust Bowl
  • Big Bill Broonzy: Black Brown And White
  • Oscar Brand: Talking Atomic Blues
  • Hamilton Camp: Girl From The North Country
  • Judy Collins: The Dove
  • Tom Paxton: High Sheriff Of Hazard
  • Phil Ochs: The Thresher
  • Pete Seeger: We Shall Overcome

A boxed set of 4 discs with a 48 page booklet put together by Robert Sheldon and released with the assistance of Folkways Records.

Side 1: Songs of the Old World and Migration to the New Side 2: Settling, Exploring and Growing in the New World Side 3: Work Song Side 4: Many Worshippers, One God Side 5: Country Music - From Ballads to Bluegrass Side 6: Nothing But The Blues Side 7: Of War, Love and Hope Side 8: Broadsides, Topical Songs, Protest Songs

This box was issued in the UK as EUK 2512/2 and some (probably the earliest) US copies were numbered EKL-BOX with the sides denoted as A, B, C etc and having an unusual black label.